What we support

Since its establishment, the Landis & Gyr Foundation has focused its funding activities on cultural projects primarily in the following areas:

Art and culture

The Landis & Gyr Foundation supports outstanding projects from a wide range of artistic disciplines. The main area of focus is professional and contemporary creative work by artists/writers in Switzerland, preferably in cooperation with a recognised organisation.
The Foundation is particularly interested in projects from the region of Zug/central Switzerland and from non-urban regions. In principle, however, creative work from all parts of Switzerland is supported.
In certain cases, a three-year grant may be awarded to projects that are part of a larger partnership. In such cases, event organisers, festivals or groups with a proven track record are considered.
Since 2020, the Foundation has also been awarding recognition fees on appeal. Cultural institutions, festivals or independent troops in Central Switzerland as well as in the rest of Switzerland that have achieved outstanding achievements over a long period of time with comparatively modest means, implemented innovative ideas and appealed to a diverse audience are considered.

Residential fellowships

The residential fellowship programme is one of the main priorities at the Foundation. Since 1987, the Landis & Gyr Foundation has awarded Swiss artists and writers residential fellowships for an extended stay in London, Budapest, Bucharest, Sofia, Zug or Berlin (until the end of 2016). Artists and writers from the non-German-speaking regions of Switzerland are considered for residential fellowships in Zug.

Travel grants Balkans/Turkey

Unlike the residential fellowships, which are for a specific location abroad, the travel grants are not primarily designed to promote individual artists and writers, but rather to support a project-oriented approach to a socially relevant theme.
The goal is to become better acquainted with the people and cultures of the Balkans and Turkey, to promote deeper understanding of the complex reality of lived experience and to foster mutual interest and respect. The past decades have seen many immigrants from the Balkans and Turkey enter Switzerland; as such, the travel grants also aim to encourage a positive societal development in Switzerland. The aspect of communicating project results in Switzerland is lent particular weight in the selection process.

Project grants

Project grants are awarded to Swiss artists from all disciplines who, for various reasons, are unable to leave their usual place of work or who are either currently working on, or have plans to work on a project that encompasses one or more residencies at a location of their choice. Recipients of a project grant may choose where and when they will realise their project.

Cultural exchange with Eastern Europe

After the fall of the Iron Curtain at the beginning of the 1990s, the Landis & Gyr Foundation played a major role in establishing the Institutes for Advanced Study in Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria. Today, the Foundation supports the New Europe College (NEC) in Bucharest, together with the Swiss federal government and in association with the University of St. Gallen as well as other Western European foundations. Through this work, the Foundation actively fosters inner-European dialogue in the humanities and promotes relations between Eastern and Western Europe.  
Moreover, for the past 15 years, the Foundation has regularly invited humanities scholars, authors, translators and artists from (South-)Eastern Europe to take part in a residential fellowship programme in Zug.

Societal development in Switzerland

Another focus of the Foundation’s activities is the promotion of cultural and artistic projects in Switzerland that deal with contact to and integration of people from foreign cultures. The emphasis is placed on projects that strengthen the peaceful co-existence of different cultures in Switzerland and that thus have a positive impact on solidarity in society. Interactive, participative elements in a project are an important factor in the selection process.
The Balkans/Turkey travel grants, introduced in 2013, are awarded on the same basis to Swiss artists, writers and scholars. The overarching goal of the travel grants is to foster a better understanding of the people and the complex reality in the region, especially as many immigrants to Switzerland are originally from the Balkans. The travel grants are designed to promote multicultural communities and strengthen mutual respect and understanding among people from various cultures living in Switzerland. The aspect of communicating project results in Switzerland is lent particular weight when considering applications.

History What we support Previous awards Foundation Board Office Annual report Download logos Links
What we support Recognition contributions
Residential fellowships Travel grants Balkans/Turkey Project grants Current recipients Previous recipients
What we support What we don’t support
Institutes for Advanced Study Residential fellowships in Eastern Europe and Zug
Office Download logos
to top

Nos engagements prioritaires

Depuis sa fondation la Fondation Landis & Gyr s’engage pour l’art et la culture et est active dans les domaines suivants:

 

Art et culture

La Fondation Landis & Gyr soutient la réalisation de projets d’artistes de haut niveau de différents secteurs. Elle encourage en premier lieu la création professionnelle contemporaine en Suisse, de préférence en collaboration avec un organisateur reconnu.
L’accent est mis sur les activités dans la région de Zoug/Suisse centrale et dans des régions situées loin des centres urbains. En principe la fondation soutient des projets provenant de toutes les parties du pays.
Dans certains cas la promotion de projets d’artistes dure trois ans dans le cadre d’un partenariat. Des organisateurs reconnus, des festivals ou des groupes avec une performance de haut niveau entrent en ligne de compte.

Bourses d'atelier

Un vaste programme d’ateliers est une priorité du domaine de l’art. Depuis 1987 la Fondation Landis & Gyr offre des bourses d’atelier pour permettre à des artistes choisis et reconnus un séjour à Londres, Budapest, Bucarest, Sofia, Zoug et Berlin (jusqu’à fin 2016). La bourse d’atelier de Zoug est destinée à des créateurs et créatrices, écrivaines et écrivains d’autres parties linguistiques de la Suisse.

Bourses de voyages dans les pays des Balkans et en Turquie

Contrairement aux bourses d’atelier liées à des résidences à l’étranger, l’objectif n’est pas en premier lieu le soutien de personnes reconnues, mais une approche approfondie sous forme de projet d’un thème ayant un certain impact pour la société. L’objectif est la meilleure connaissance des pays des Balkans et de la Turquie afin de mieux comprendre les cultures respectives dans leur réalité complexe et d’éveiller l’intérêt réciproque des cultures. Il s’agit d’une des régions importantes dont viennent une grande partie des immigrés arrivés en Suisse. Les bourses de voyages contribuent au développement positif de la Suisse. Nous accordons un intérêt particulièrement poussé à la médiatisation des résultats de ces projets en Suisse.

Echange culturel avec l'Europe orientale

Après la chute du Rideau de fer au début des années 1990, la Fondation Landis & Gyr a joué un rôle déterminant dans la création des instituts Institutes for Advanced Study en Hongrie, en Roumanie et en Bulgarie. A présent la fondation continue de soutenir le New Europe College NEC à Bucarest en collaboration avec la Confédération suisse, l’université de Saint-Gall et d’autres fondations de pays de l’Europe occidentale et contribue ainsi à l’échange des recherches en sciences humaines au niveau européen dans le but de rapprocher l’Europe orientale de l’Europe occidentale.
Depuis une quinzaine d’années la fondation invite régulièrement des intellectuel(le)s, écrivains et écrivaines, traducteurs et traductrices, créateurs et créatrices de projets culturels vivant en Europe orientale à faire un séjour dans l’atelier de Zoug.

Développement social de la Suisse

Un autre point fort de l’engagement consiste à promouvoir des projets culturels en Suisse qui alimentent le débat et facilitent l’intégration de gens provenant de cultures étrangères. Ce sont avant tout des projets qui contribuent à la cohésion sociale en animant l’échange et en renforçant les liens avec des gens de différentes cultures en Suisse. Des éléments interactifs et participatifs jouent un rôle important.

Le même objectif est visé par l’attribution de bourses de voyages dans les pays des Balkans et en Turquie destinées à des créateurs culturels ou à des intellectuel(le)s offertes depuis 2013. Il s’agit de mieux connaître les gens dans la réalité complexe de la vie dans leur pays d’origine. Les pays des Balkans sont les pays d’origine de la plus grande partie des migrants et migrantes en Suisse. Les bourses de voyages ont pour but de faire évoluer la vie multiculturelle et la compréhension réciproque de différentes cultures cohabitant en Suisse. Pour l’évaluation des projets un accent important est mis sur la médiatisation des résultats de recherches en Suisse.

Histoire Priorités de l’engagement Conseil de fondation Administration Rapport d’activité Download logos Liens
Nos engagements prioritaires
Bourses d'atelier Bourses de voyages, pays des Balkans/Turquie Boursiers actuels/boursières actuelles Tous les boursiers/toutes les boursières
Ce que nous soutenons Nous ne soutenons pas
Prix décernés par la Fondation Landis & Gyr Précédentes éditions de prix
Institutes for Advanced Study Bourses d’atelier en Europe orientale et à Zoug
Administration Download Logos
to top