What we support

Since its establishment, the Landis & Gyr Foundation has focused its funding activities on cultural projects primarily in the following areas:

Art and culture

The Landis & Gyr Foundation supports outstanding projects from a wide range of artistic disciplines. The main area of focus is professional and contemporary creative work by artists/writers in Switzerland, preferably in cooperation with a recognised organisation.
The Foundation is particularly interested in projects from the region of Zug/central Switzerland and from non-urban regions. In principle, however, creative work from all parts of Switzerland is supported.
In certain cases, a three-year grant may be awarded to projects that are part of a larger partnership. In such cases, event organisers, festivals or groups with a proven track record are considered.
Since 2020, the Foundation has also been awarding recognition fees on appeal. Cultural institutions, festivals or independent troops in Central Switzerland as well as in the rest of Switzerland that have achieved outstanding achievements over a long period of time with comparatively modest means, implemented innovative ideas and appealed to a diverse audience are considered.

Residential fellowships

The residential fellowship programme is one of the main priorities at the Foundation. Since 1987, the Landis & Gyr Foundation has awarded Swiss artists and writers residential fellowships for an extended stay in London, Budapest, Bucharest, Sofia, Zug or Berlin (until the end of 2016). Artists and writers from the non-German-speaking regions of Switzerland are considered for residential fellowships in Zug.

Travel grants Balkans/Turkey

Unlike the residential fellowships, which are for a specific location abroad, the travel grants are not primarily designed to promote individual artists and writers, but rather to support a project-oriented approach to a socially relevant theme.
The goal is to become better acquainted with the people and cultures of the Balkans and Turkey, to promote deeper understanding of the complex reality of lived experience and to foster mutual interest and respect. The past decades have seen many immigrants from the Balkans and Turkey enter Switzerland; as such, the travel grants also aim to encourage a positive societal development in Switzerland. The aspect of communicating project results in Switzerland is lent particular weight in the selection process.

Project grants

Project grants are awarded to Swiss artists from all disciplines who, for various reasons, are unable to leave their usual place of work or who are either currently working on, or have plans to work on a project that encompasses one or more residencies at a location of their choice. Recipients of a project grant may choose where and when they will realise their project.

Cultural exchange with Eastern Europe

After the fall of the Iron Curtain at the beginning of the 1990s, the Landis & Gyr Foundation played a major role in establishing the Institutes for Advanced Study in Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria. Today, the Foundation supports the New Europe College (NEC) in Bucharest, together with the Swiss federal government and in association with the University of St. Gallen as well as other Western European foundations. Through this work, the Foundation actively fosters inner-European dialogue in the humanities and promotes relations between Eastern and Western Europe.  
Moreover, for the past 15 years, the Foundation has regularly invited humanities scholars, authors, translators and artists from (South-)Eastern Europe to take part in a residential fellowship programme in Zug.

Societal development in Switzerland

Another focus of the Foundation’s activities is the promotion of cultural and artistic projects in Switzerland that deal with contact to and integration of people from foreign cultures. The emphasis is placed on projects that strengthen the peaceful co-existence of different cultures in Switzerland and that thus have a positive impact on solidarity in society. Interactive, participative elements in a project are an important factor in the selection process.
The Balkans/Turkey travel grants, introduced in 2013, are awarded on the same basis to Swiss artists, writers and scholars. The overarching goal of the travel grants is to foster a better understanding of the people and the complex reality in the region, especially as many immigrants to Switzerland are originally from the Balkans. The travel grants are designed to promote multicultural communities and strengthen mutual respect and understanding among people from various cultures living in Switzerland. The aspect of communicating project results in Switzerland is lent particular weight when considering applications.

History What we support Previous awards Foundation Board Office Annual report Download logos Links
What we support Recognition contributions
Residential fellowships Travel grants Balkans/Turkey Project grants Current recipients Previous recipients
What we support What we don’t support
Institutes for Advanced Study Residential fellowships in Eastern Europe and Zug
Office Download logos
to top

Förderschwerpunkte

Die Landis & Gyr Stiftung ist seit ihrer Gründung hauptsächlich als Kulturstiftung tätig und umfasst folgende Schwerpunkte und Tätigkeitsfelder:

Kunst und Kultur

Die Landis & Gyr Stiftung unterstützt künstlerische Projekte von hoher Qualität aus verschiedenen Sparten. Im Vordergrund steht die professionelle zeitgenössische Kreation in der Schweiz, vorzugsweise im Zusammenspiel mit einem ausgewiesenen Veranstalter.
Ein spezieller Akzent liegt auf Aktivitäten in der Region Zug/Zentralschweiz und in Regionen ausserhalb der städtischen Zentren. Grundsätzlich werden aber Projekte in allen Landesteilen unterstützt.
In ausgewählten Fällen erstreckt sich die Förderung von künstlerischen Projekten im Rahmen von Partnerschaften über drei Jahre. In Frage kommen ausgewiesene Veranstalter, Festivals oder Gruppierungen mit einem ausserordentlichen Leistungsausweis.

Atelierstipendien

Zu den Schwerpunkten zählt ein ausgedehntes Atelierprogramm. Seit 1987 vergibt die Landis & Gyr Stiftung Atelierstipendien im Sinne von Werkaufenthalten an ausgewählte Schweizer Kulturschaffende in London, Budapest, Bukarest, Sofia, Zug und Berlin (bis Ende 2016). In den Genuss von Atelierstipendien in Zug kommen Kunstschaffende sowie Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller aus den andern Sprachregionen der Schweiz.

Reisestipendien Balkan/Türkei

Im Unterschied zu den fest verorteten Atelierstipendien im Ausland steht bei den Reisestipendien nicht primär die individuelle Förderung von Kulturschaffenden, sondern die gezielte, projektbezogene Auseinandersetzung mit einem gesellschaftlich relevanten Thema im Fokus.
Ziel ist es, die Menschen aus der Region Balkan/Türkei und deren Kultur bzw. komplexe Realität besser kennen zu lernen und das gegenseitige Verständnis und Interesse aneinander zu fördern. Es handelt sich um eine wichtige Herkunftsgegend der Immigration in unserem Land.  Über die Reisestipendien soll letztlich ein Beitrag an die positive Entwicklung der Schweiz geleistet werden. Dem Aspekt der Vermittlung der Projektresultate in der Schweiz wird dabei besonders viel Gewicht beigemessen.

Kulturaustausch mit Osteuropa

Nach der Wende zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre beteiligte sich die Landis & Gyr Stiftung massgeblich am Aufbau der Institutes for Advanced Study in Ungarn, Rumänien und Bulgarien. Heute unterstützt die Stiftung zusammen mit der Eidgenossenschaft und im Verbund mit der Universität St. Gallen sowie mit weiteren Stiftungen westeuropäischer Länder nach wie vor das New Europe College NEC in Bukarest und trägt damit zum innereuropäischen Austausch im geisteswissenschaftlichen Bereich und zur Annäherung zwischen Ost- und Westeuropa bei.  
Zusätzlich lädt die Stiftung seit fünfzehn Jahren regelmässig GeisteswissenschafterInnen, SchriftstellerInnen, ÜbersetzerInnen und Kunstschaffende aus (Süd)Osteuropa für Stipendienaufenthalte nach Zug ein.

Gesellschaftliche Entwicklung Schweiz

Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt der Fördertätigkeit bildet die Unterstützung von kulturellen Projekten in der Schweiz, die sich mit der Auseinandersetzung und Integration von Menschen aus fremden Kulturen befassen. Im Vordergrund stehen Projekte, welche das Miteinander von Menschen aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen in der Schweiz stärken und so den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt positiv beeinflussen. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt dabei das interaktive, partizipative Element.
Die gleiche Zielsetzung verfolgen auch die seit 2013 ausgeschriebenen Reisestipendien im Raum Balkan/Türkei, welche sich an Schweizer Kulturschaffende und WissenschaftlerInnen wenden. Dabei geht es darum, die Menschen aus diesem Raum und die komplexe Realität in deren Ursprungsheimat besser kennen zu lernen. Insbesondere der Balkan ist eine wichtige Herkunftsgegend von Migrantinnen und Migranten in der Schweiz. Die Reisestipendien sollen einen Beitrag an das multikulturelle Zusammenleben und das gegenseitige Verständnis der verschiedenen Kulturen in der Schweiz leisten. Dem Aspekt der Vermittlung der Projektresultate in der Schweiz misst die Stiftung bei der Evaluation besonderes Gewicht bei.

Reisestipendien Balkan

Geschichte Förderschwerpunkte Stiftungsrat Geschäftsstelle Tätigkeitsbericht Download Logos Links
Förderschwerpunkte
Atelierstipendien Reisestipendien Balkan/Türkei Aktuelle StipendiatInnen Alle StipendiatInnen
Was wir unterstützen Was wir nicht unterstützen
Preis der Landis & Gyr Stiftung Frühere Preise
Institutes for Advanced Study Atelierstipendien in Osteuropa und Zug
Geschäftsstelle Download Logos
to top