Travel grants Balkans/Turkey

General information
In view of the complex societal challenges that accompany the rising number of immigrants in Europe – a development that has also impacted Switzerland’s population – the Landis & Gyr Foundation offers support to projects that focus on the Balkans and Turkey.
For over 20 years, the Foundation has worked with centres for the humanities in Budapest (until 2011), in Sofia and in Bucharest (currently the main location). The Foundation’s Eastern European engagement is supplemented by the project-specific travel grants for the neighbouring Balkan countries and Turkey. Unlike the residential fellowships, which are for a specific location abroad, the travel grants are not primarily designed to promote individual artists and writers, but rather to support a project-oriented approach to a socially relevant theme.

Objective
The goal of the travel grants is to become better acquainted with the people and cultures of the Balkans and Turkey, to promote deeper understanding of the complex reality of lived experience and to foster mutual interest and respect. The travel grants also aim to encourage a positive societal development in Switzerland. The aspect of communicating project results in Switzerland is lent particular weight in the selection process.

Procedure
The Foundation has provided for the award of 2 to 4 grants every year, disbursed over roughly 6 months (or distributed over an entire year, if required). The location and exact time period can be decided individually, although the Foundation encourages grant recipients to travel and conduct a part of their research/preparatory work on site in the Balkans or Turkey.

Who may apply
Applications are accepted from Swiss artists and writers as well as from non-Swiss artists and writers whose official residence is in Switzerland (three or more years) or who have close ties to Switzerland. Although there are no age limits, the grants are not awarded to students.

Requirements
Applicants must have a recognised professional record of achievement in an artistic, scholarly, intellectual, journalistic or socio-cultural field; moreover, they must present a convincing project with a particular connection to the geographic and cultural area (Balkans/Turkey) as well as societal relevance with regard to Switzerland. Because the aspect of communicating results in Switzerland is of central importance, applicants must submit a communication concept with their application documents. The concept must provide information on clear and convincing strategies to use multiple communication channels, preferably in connection with established event organisers and institutions in Switzerland such as various media, publishers, cultural and educational institutions etc. (Simply a blog, a book or an article is not sufficient!)

What does the Landis & Gyr Foundation offer?
The Foundation assumes travel and living expenses.

Application and selection process
In the first phase, candidates submit their fully completed application to the office of the Landis & Gyr Foundation, which sends a confirmation of receipt via e-mail by the end of February 2020 at the latest. In the second phase, the Foundation’s experts assess the applications and subsequently send selected projects to the Foundation Board. The final decision is communicated in writing at the end of May 2020. No correspondence is conducted on the selection process.

The application period for 2020 travel grants is closed.
The application period for 2021 travel grants opens in January 2021.

arada: documentary film project by Jonas Schaffter
Sandra Mehmedović (War Childhood Musem), Dževha Šabanovi, Edith Werffeli
Photo: Lorenz Bohler
First meeting of "Kosovë is everywhere" at Qendra Multimedia, Pristina
Association "Bern ist überall", travel grant 2017
Yolda Kiosk: Unterwegs zwischen der Schweiz und der Türkei
Gaby Fierz, Basel, travel grant 2014/15
History What we support Previous awards Foundation Board Office Annual report Download logos Links
What we support Recognition contributions
Residential fellowships Travel grants Balkans/Turkey Project grants Current recipients Previous recipients
What we support What we don’t support
Institutes for Advanced Study Residential fellowships in Eastern Europe and Zug
Office Download logos
to top

Reisestipendien Balkan/Türkei

Allgemeine Informationen
Mit Blick auf die vielfältigen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen, mit denen auch wir in der Schweiz uns angesichts des hohen Migrationsanteils unserer Bevölkerung konfrontiert sehen, fördert die Landis & Gyr Stiftung seit einigen Jahren die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Raum Balkan/Türkei.
Seit über 20 Jahren engagiert sich die Stiftung im Zusammenhang mit geisteswissenschaftlichen Zentren in Budapest (bis 2011), in Sofia und heute vor allem noch in Bukarest. Das Osteuropa-Engagement wird durch projektbezogene Reisestipendien im angrenzenden Raum Balkan/Türkei ergänzt. Im Unterschied zu den fest verorteten Atelierstipendien im Ausland steht bei den Reisestipendien nicht primär die individuelle Förderung von ausgewiesenen Einzelpersonen, sondern eine projektorientierte Auseinandersetzung mit einem gesellschaftlich relevanten Thema im Fokus.

Ziel
Ziel ist es, die Menschen aus der Region Balkan/Türkei und deren Kultur bzw. komplexe Realität besser kennen zu lernen und das gegenseitige Verständnis und Interesse aneinander zu fördern, denn es handelt sich um eine wichtige Herkunftsgegend der Immigration in unserem Land. Über die Reisestipendien soll letztlich ein Beitrag an die positive Entwicklung der Schweiz geleistet werden. Dem Aspekt der Vermittlung der Projektresultate in der Schweiz wird besonders viel Gewicht beigemessen.

Ablauf
Vorgesehen ist die Ausrichtung  von 2-4 Stipendien pro Jahr, welche sich je über einen Zeitraum von ca. 6 Monaten (allenfalls verteilt über ein ganzes Jahr) erstrecken. Der zeitliche und örtliche  Ablauf  ist frei gestaltbar, wobei es begrüsst wird, wenn zusätzlich zur Reisetätigkeit auch ein Teil der Recherche-Aufarbeitung stationär im Raum Balkan/Türkei erfolgt.

Wer kann sich bewerben
Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Schweizerinnen und Schweizer, aber auch Ausländerinnen und Ausländer mit offiziellem Wohnsitz in der Schweiz (seit mindestens drei Jahren) oder engem Bezug zur Schweiz. Es besteht keine Altersbeschränkung, doch richtet sich das Angebot nicht an Studierende. Ein bereits einmal erhaltenes Landis & Gyr Stipendium muss mindestens 10 Jahre zurückliegen. Drei Mal abgelehnte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber können sich erst nach einer Frist von 5 Jahren erneut bewerben. 

Bedingungen
Die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen über einen anerkannten professionellen Leistungsausweis im intellektuellen, künstlerischen, wissenschaftlichen, journalistischen oder soziokulturellen Bereich verfügen und ein überzeugendes Projekt mit besonderem Bezug zu diesem Raum einerseits und mit gesellschaftlicher Relevanz für die Schweiz andererseits vorweisen können. Weil dem Aspekt der Vermittlung in der Schweiz zentrale Bedeutung zukommt, ist mit den Bewerbungsunterlagen auch ein Vermittlungskonzept einzureichen, welches anschaulich und überzeugend mehrere ‚Schienen‘ der Vermittlung ausweist, möglichst in Anbindung an offizielle Veranstalter und Institutionen in der Schweiz wie  z.B. Medien, Verleger, Kultur- und Bildungsinstitutionen etc. (nur ein Blog, ein Buch oder ein Artikel reichen nicht!).

Was bietet die Landis & Gyr Stiftung?
Die Stiftung übernimmt Reise- und Lebenshaltungskosten.

Bewerbung und Auswahlverfahren
In einer ersten Phase schicken die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten ihre Bewerbung gemäss Vorgaben an die Geschäftsstelle der Landis & Gyr Stiftung, welche den Empfang spätestens Ende Februar 2020 per E-Mail bestätigt. In der zweiten Phase prüfen die FachexpertInnen der Stiftung die eingegangenen Bewerbungen und unterbreiten dem Stiftungsrat die Vorschläge. Der definitive Bescheid erfolgt schriftlich Ende Mai 2020. Über das Auswahlverfahren wird keine Korrespondenz geführt.

Das Bewerbungsfenster für die Reisestipendien 2020 ist geschlossen.
Die Ausschreibung für die Reisestipendien 2021 erfolgt ab Januar 2021.

"arada", Dok-Filmprojekt Jonas Schaffter
Sandra Mehmedović (War Childhood Musem), Dževha Šabanovi, Edith Werffeli
Foto: Lorenz Bohler
Erstes Treffen von "Kosovë is everywhere" im Qendra Multimedia, Pristina
Verein Bern ist überall, Reisestipendium 2017
Yolda Kiosk: Unterwegs zwischen der Schweiz und der Türkei
Gaby Fierz, Basel, Reisestipendium 2014/15
Geschichte Förderschwerpunkte Ehemalige Preise Stiftungsrat Geschäftsstelle Tätigkeitsbericht Download Logos Links
Förderschwerpunkte Anerkennungsbeiträge
Atelierstipendien Reisestipendien Balkan/Türkei Werkstipendien Aktuelle StipendiatInnen Alle StipendiatInnen
Was wir unterstützen Was wir nicht unterstützen
Institutes for Advanced Study Atelierstipendien in Osteuropa und Zug
Geschäftsstelle Download Logos
to top